#foodiefriday Jan-6-2017

Happy first #foodiefriday of 2017! I hope you had a happy and healthy holiday season! I don’t think I’ve eaten more Christmas cookies in my life! But that’s a story for another day…

This week, I am so excited to write about a brand new restaurant in Downtown that is the talk of the town, Matbah Mediterranean Cuisine! We went for our staff holiday lunch, and it blew our socks off!

I had only ever eaten Turkish food once, when a small restaurant opened in my hometown while I was in college. I don’t even remember what I ate (shocking, I know!), so I was beyond excited to give Matbah a shot!

Matbah features both a lunch (open at 11am) and a dinner (closed at 11pm) menu and it is extensive! We started our lunch off with two orders of Kibbe (recommended by a friend, and SO worthy). Trixie ordered the lunch combo with an Avgolemono soup (with a hint of mint, Trixie loved it!) and the Mixed Green and Citrus Salad. Sara ordered the Chicken Adana wrap with fries, and I ordered the Beef Shish Kebab Wrap with an arugula salad! Both came with a yummy white garlic sauce and their red spicy sauce (so flavorful!). We were SO very happily STUFFED!

What’s a dining adventure at a new restaurant without dessert!? We tried the yogurt mousse, strawberry and carrot jam dessert. The presentation was absolutely stunning (see photo below). All of the flavors perfectly cleansed our palettes and were the perfect portion size! Sara and Trixie also indulged in some Turkish coffee, check out the gorgeous presentation!

See Matbah’s full menu on their Facebook page here and be sure to give them a LIKE! With 4.9 stars on Facebook, Downtown sure loves Matbah and I do too!


Leave a Reply

