#foodiefriday May-27-2016

menuHappy #foodiefriday! Last Sunday I was lucky enough to attend the Farmers Dinner at The Foundry! I’ve been dying to attend a dinner for years now and this particular dinner fell on my Dad’s birthday–so it was the perfect timing! We bought our tickets and eagerly awaited the dinner for over a month.

The course featured veal from Robie Farms and surely did not disappoint! To the right you can see the entire menu from the evening. We started the dinner with a surprise course–veal carpaccio. I vividly remember visiting my grandparents in Naples, Florida for February vacation in 7th grade and having my first taste of carpaccio. I was hooked and it has remained one of my all-time favorite dishes! So you know I was so happy to have it as our starter. Next up was Cottage Pie. It was basically a deconstructed Shepard’s Pie with ground veal, peas, potatoes, and a delicious flaky biscuit. Now, for the pièce de résistance (AKA my favorite part of the night): the Robie Farm Cheese Plate. This plate included farmstead cheese from Robie Farm, pickled onion, asparagus, and fiddleheads. My absolute favorite cheese was the Swaledale. (I obviously took the leftovers home) Next up was the most adventurous dish of the night, Grilled Heart Salad. There was a large crostini with liver mousse and marinated tongue and heart, all on top of a delicious salad. I was nervous to try the heart and tongue as it typically is not part of my normal diet. I bit the bullet and was pleasantly surprised. The texture of both, as you can imagine, was bit intense, but I enjoyed them both more than I thought I would (heart more than the tongue for the record). Next up was the Pastrami that awarded the chefs a round of applause at the end of the dinner. It was phenomenal! Our last main course of the evening was the veal meatloaf wrapped in bacon with a parsnip puree. I could have slurped up the glaze on this dish with a spoon! It was amazing. Lastly we had a rhubarb tart that had the most delicious crust, tart flavor, creamy caramel and of course, ice cream.

I highly recommend you check out the Farmers Dinner the next time they’re Downtown! It’s absolutely a culinary sensation you won’t soon forget!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And for our other amazing Downtown eats from the past week:

Leave a Reply

