Throwback Thursday Apr-2-2015

Editor’s Note: I love nothing more than a good prank and given the fact that yesterday was April Fools Day, I thought it fitting to revisit a Throwback Thursday post from last August that had me laughing at my desk.


The Original Post:

Having employed over 17,000 people in its peak, The Amoskeag Mills themselves were a machine. Like any modern company today, employee safety was, seemingly, a priority. The Amoskeag Mills created a series of photographs to promote and encourage workplace safety.

Man lying on the floor after stepping on several bobbinAlright, I have to admit that when I first saw some of these pictures they made me giggle. Not knowing the context in which they were taken, I had to double take at the guy very clearly lying on the ground on purpose (see left).

Running a Hand Truck against a Machine

Or how about this man apparently “Running a Hand Truck against a Machine?” (see right). These guys were definitely not the best actors. While Amoskeag’s attempts at promoting safety was a very real campaign and issue, almost 100 years later I’m sure it’s safe to look back and find them somewhat entertaining…

THANK YOU to the Manchester Historic Association for letting me scour your photo archives again this week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

