#foodiefriday Sep-26-2014

It seems that my entire life I have always been one to have the ‘weird’ lunches. In elementary school I’d bring in all types of Italian food to lunch–pizzagane, prosciutto and mozzarella sandwiches, zeppolas (I was always scared I’d grab one with an anchovy inside!), you name it. I’d always get these ‘what is that!?’ looks from my lunch buddies with their fluffer-nutter sandwiches and Capri Suns. I would tell stories about my family’s Christmas Eve celebration with the Feast of the Seven Fishes. I’d name all the dishes saving the best, squirmiest dishes for last–squid and peas and smoked sardines. Some of my friends would give a yelp of disgust with a look of bewilderment and disbelief. I’d just shrug my shoulders and say, “my mom’s Italian!”

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever packed for lunch? And no, I never did bring squid and peas to lunch…

One thought on “#foodiefriday Sep-26-2014

Leave a Reply

